OpenCoffee Club

Place for people who love startups to hang out and meet

The cricket world cup is an international occurrence. These WC matches are based on men's One Day International (ODI) cricket matches. WC matches are prearranged by the International Cricket Council (ICC). This tournament is being held after every four years since held the first time in England in 1975. The numeral of matches and teams are increased than first cricket wc match. cricket world cup dates and cricket world cup schedule played according to team and playground.

The FIRST match was played in 1975, hosted by England. West Indies won the first world cup by defeating Australia by 17 runs. The SECOND match was played in 1979. Hosted by England. Again West Indies won the world cup by defeating England by 92 runs. The THIRD match was held in 1983, hosted by England third time. India won this world cup by defeating West Indies by 43 runs. The FOURTH was played in 1987, hosted by Pakistan and India. This world cup was won by Australia by defeating England by 7 runs, the closest margin in world cup history. The FIFTH matches were held in Australia and New Zealand in 1992. Pakistan won by defeating England by 22 runs.
The SIXTH was played in1996, hosted by India and Sri Lenka. And Australia defeated West Indies by 29 runs. The SEVENTH was played in 1999, hosted by England, Ireland, Scotland, and Netherlands. Australia defeated Pakistan and reached the target in 20 overstep EIGHTH was hosted by South Africa, Zimbabwe and Kenya in 2003. Australia won this world cup by defeating India by 125 runs. The last NINETH was played in 2007, and hosted by West Indies. And Australia defeated sri Lanka by 53 runs.
THE WC 2011:

The TENTH ICC cricket wc is going to held in 2011. This will be played throughout the months of February and March 2011. The first match will be played on 19th February 2011, and fourteen countries are going to participate this cricket world cup. India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh are going to host this humankind cup tournament. It is first time for Bangladesh to co-host a cricket world cup.
Pakistan was also incorporated in the co-hosting countries, but after the attack on Sri Lanka's national cricket team in Lahore in 2009, the International Cricket Council (ICC) forced the Pakistan to strip its hosting rights. So Pakistan is not hosting the world cup matches now.
Fourteen matches incorporated one semi final, were supposed to host by Pakistan, are now shifted to other countries. Eight matches of them are shifted to India, four are given to Sri Lanka and two are awarded to Bangladesh. The headquarters of the organizing board were also in Lahore, which are shifted to Mumbai now.

Views: 19


You need to be a member of OpenCoffee Club to add comments!

Join OpenCoffee Club



© 2022   Created by Saul Klein.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service